Search: Keyword:
Guidance
Contact:
Rita Sanders Jackson 256-446-5679 Email

School Counseling is for Everyone! Welcome to the 2014-15 School Year

 

A SCHOOL COUNSELOR

 

 

Who? What? Why? 

 

 

 

WHY DOES MY SCHOOL HAVE A COUNSELOR?

 

THE COUNSELOR IS HERE TO HELP ME TO GET ALONG WITH OTHER STUDENTS

 

TO FEEL GOOD ABOUT OURSELVES SO THAT WE CAN DO OUR BEST IN SCHOOL.

 

SHE WANTS ME TO BE ABLE TO:

 

• LEARN TO GET ALONG WELL WITH OTHERS

 

• LEARN MORE ABOUT MYSELF AND OTHERS

 

• LEARN TO MANAGE MY TIME WISELY

 

• LEARN TO SOLVE MY OWN PROBLEMS

 

 

WHEN MAY I SEE THE GUIDANCE COUNSELOR?

 

• WHEN MY CLASS OR SMALL GROUP HAS A GUIDANCE ACTIVITY

 

• WHEN MY TEACHER ASKS US TO WORK TOGETHER

 

• WHEN MY PARENTS REQUEST THAT THE COUNSELOR WORK WITH ME

 

• WHEN THE COUNSELOR INVITES ME

 

• WHEN I ASK TO VISIT THE COUNSELOR

 

 

WHAT WILL MY COUNSELOR DO?

 

SHE WILL LISTEN TO ME WHEN I . . .

 

• FEEL ANGRY, SAD, AFRAID, OR JUST WANT SOMEONE TO LISTEN

 

• HAVE PROBLEMS FOCUSING ON MY SCHOOL WORK

 

• WANT TO TALK ABOUT MY FUTURE PLANS REGARDING WHEN I GROW UP

 

• JUST NEED A FRIEND To LISTEN

 

 

WHO IS MY SCHOOL COUNSELOR?

 

MRS. RITA JACKSON, COUNSELOR

 

 As your new school counselor at Hatton,

I hope to get to know each of your children through

our comprehensive guidance program. School Counseling

promotes the academic, social, personal,

and career interests of your children

through lessons that correlate to the ASCA

(American School Counseling Association) guidelines.

Promoting character, helping students overcome

any hindrance to their learning, and

helping them to have FUN while learning,

while getting along with others, and becoming the very best

that they can be to be a productive member of society

 are our goals here at Hatton Elementary. I am so happy

to be a part of the professional team of dedicated

educators here in Colbert County and look forward

to a fantastic year! Please do not hesitate to contact me,

if I can be of service to you!

 

 

Guidance Classes

30 Minute Classes x 4/Semester

Guidance Lessons will be on the dates listed below

[barring no TESTING, MEETINGS, PROF Dev, or other school issues that may arise].

If you are bumped, please be patient with me, as I will diligently try to reschedule,

if at all possible. Due to breaks, holidays, etc. some months you may not have a

guidance class or may have two times in one month. May was left off intentionally

due to IEP’s, etc. I do not have testing schedule or training for testing yet, so these

may change. I will let you know, if they do. TIME will be the same time SLOT you

have for LIBRARY or at a time that you select but on these dates for GUIDANCE.

 

LONG

Williams

Lamar

Hannah

Semester 1

 

 

Semester 2

Aug. 29 

Fri, Jan 9

Fri, Sept 19

 

Fri, Feb 6

Fri, Oct 31

 

Fri, Mar 20

Fri, Dec 5

 

Fri, Apr 17

 

 

Pless

Prestage

Moore

Reeps

Semester 1

 

 

Semester 2

Fri, Aug. 29

 

Fri, Jan 23

Fri, Sept 26

 

Fri, Feb 27

Fri, Nov 07

 

Fri, April 10

Fri, Dec 12

 

Fri, April 24

 

 

Willis

Gargis

Miller

King

Semester 1

 

 

 

Semester 2

Fri, Aug 15

 

 

Fri, Jan 16

Fri, Sept 12

 

 

Fri, Feb 20

Fri, Oct 24

 

 

Fri, Mar 13

Fri, Nov 21

 

 

Fri, April 3